History of the hall

​The present hall was built in 1978 to replace the old Victory Hall which had been erected in the early 1920’s to celebrate the victory of The Great War. The old hall was pulled down and the site sold; a new site was donated by a local farmer; a local architect planned the design; and a local builder did the construction.
Beaford Village Hall

Beaford Village Hall

The hall committee, helped by various grants, raised the £40,000 needed, by holding fetes, revels and sales.
The hall is in very active use for the following:-
Social Evenings,
Monthly markets,
Short Mat Bowls,
Beaford Ladies Group,
Occasional dances and discos and also a yearly Motorcycle show whist drives, sales, fetes, some Beaford Centre Activities, local drama group, school P.E.
The main hall is very large, with adjoining kitchen/committee room, store, and toilets.
Beaford Village Hall snow

Beaford Village Hall in the snow

On 3rd August 1914, Britain’s Foreign Minister, Sir Edward Grey, was looking out of his office window. It was dusk, and the gas lights were being lit along London’s Mall, leading to Buckingham Palace, when he remarked to a friend, “The lamps are going out all over Europe; we shall not see them lit again in our lifetime.”
BVH-View

BVH-View

Our country was about to be plunged into the darkness of the First World War and it would be four long years before Britain and Europe would again experience the light of peace. In commemoration and remembrance of the end of the war and the many millions who were killed or came home dreadfully wounded, 1000 Beacons of Light were lit at 7pm on 11th November 2018 throughout the United Kingdom. The Beacons will symbolise the ‘light of hope’ that emerged from the darkness of war. Beaford was proud to be able to be part of that.